Summer Favorites

I was thinking this morning about all the things I love about summer and thought I’d share with you. Not that any of these are groundbreaking or anything, but I enjoy them immensely and there are just certain things about summer that you don’t have the rest of the year. 

So, here we go!

Sunshine!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Duh. Here in the Pacific Northwest, this isn’t always a given even in the summertime, so I’m super thankful when the sun peeks its face out! The weather has been great lately and we’ve been really enjoying it. Which leads me to the second thing…

The BeachOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I mean, who doesn’t love the beach? Since we live on an Island, the beach is well, surrounding us and we can walk down to it from our house. Spending an afternoon with my toes in the sand and listening to the waves softly lap on the shore while gazing across the water to the mountains is pretty close to paradise. 

 

Fresh Fruit 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love fruit. I also love that so much of it is locally available around here. Peaches (not super local but from the same state anyway), cherries, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, plums…and non-local but so good I buy it more than I should- WATERMELON!!! I love watermelon. SO much.

 

Picnics in the Backyard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s just so sweet to sit in the soft grass in the shade and leisurely munch on fruit and veggies and salads and other yummy things while having unforgettable conversations with my kiddos. 

 

Flowers!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I guess this isn’t exclusively a summer thing, but I love all the flowers that show their colorful faces all throughout the summer. We have zinnias growing outside our back door and they always are so cheery and bright, even on a cloudy day they bring beautiful color to the world.

 

Being Barefoot

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really hate wearing shoes. And socks too…barefoot is just so much better! Except on cold fall and winter days of course, which is why I’m glad it’s summer. So what if your feet get dirty? They also wash well. 😉

 

I know there are several more things that are good about summer, but those are my top favorites. What are yours? 

One thought on “Summer Favorites

  1. I love summer for all the same reasons. Watermelon is one of my favorites too! Love the sandy beaches and cooler summer mornings. Great blog!!

Leave a comment