Homemaking

Man, it’s been a homemaking kind of week this week!
Usually we do the normal, everyday kind of housework.

Like dishes,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Laundry,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Filling the wood box,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Doing school, checking on the chicks.

Cooking dinner of course!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lentil Soup

But every week there’s that one or two  days…

Where I make granola

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My Mom makes bread

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I make yogurt

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I start some sourdough bread

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Make some tooth powder

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Make laundry detergent

Homemade Laundry Detergent

Plant some more seeds

Haul some brush up to be burned

Make cookies!!
It seemed like we suddenly ran out of everything at once, and all day yesterday I was baking and cooking and today has been “make more tooth powder and laundry detergent and sourdough day”

Does that ever happen to you? Just curious. I feel like it happens to me a lot. 🙂

I love making all those things, it gives me such a sense of satisfaction!
To know that my family is eating healthily and using chemical-free body products makes me so happy!

And I don’ t neglect my kiddos while I’m doing all that homemaking. They help too.

Ellie LOVES to help make granola and bread and Ethan always wants to haul brush from down in the lower field to the burn pit. Its one of his favorite things to do.

I think it’s really important to involve our children in our homemaking, to teach them how to do what we are doing, so they can use that knowledge later in life and teach their children.  It’s way more fun (and usually way more messy!) when kids help and it makes for a great bonding time and wonderful memories your children will carry with them their whole lives.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Homemaking really isn’t about doing everything yourself; it’s about making your house a home . 🙂

A place of rest, a place of comfort, a place of peace, a place to sit and be cozy, a place to be you.

“A wise woman builds her home, but a foolish woman tears her house down with her own hands.”  Proverbs 14:1

2 thoughts on “Homemaking

Leave a Reply

