A Painted Piano

I mentioned on Facebook a few weeks ago that we were given a piano.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well….we painted it!

It was a pretty piano to begin with, however both my hubby and I have always thought that painted pianos just look super cool and we wanted a nice bright color pop in our living room.

Enter the paint.

We chose Pratt &Lambert’s No VOC (Volatile Organic Compound) paint from our local Sebo’s Do It Center. VOC’s are the elements in the paint that stink and give you a headache if you don’t have proper ventilation when painting. You know, the poisonous stuff. Don’t want none of that in my house, especially with a new baby. It was a little more expensive, but definitely worth it.

I LOVE this color!! It’s so bright and fun and cheery. It’s called “Delightful Aqua” and it is in fact, delightful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

First, the kids and hubby sanded the piano a little. It didn’t have very much of a finish on it, so we just did a light sanding with fine grained paper.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then, the painting began!

Ethan got bored painting pretty quickly, but Ellie just loved it. She has a super artistic personality and really enjoys painting of any kind.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We taped off the keys and the pedals and the kids weren’t allowed to do around them at all- they had to stick to painting the sides and front of the piano.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It took two coats of paint to get it mostly covered- we did leave a few spots where the wood is peeking through just a tiny bit, for character. I would like to give it a sealing coat of wax or finish of some kind to make sure the paint doesn’t get scraped off easily and we still need to get it tuned, but it makes a very nice addition to our living room.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I love it!!!

We also still need to paint the piano bench- by the time we were done with the piano it was too late at night to start on the bench, we needed our sleep! There’s still a lot of paint left too, so ย you just may see it appear on some other things in the future..who knows?

Have you ever painted a piano? Would you if you had one? Or are you a piano purist? I’d love to hear from you!

7 thoughts on “A Painted Piano

  1. I have never seen a piano painted any color other than white. It is interesting. For some reason it puts me in mind of a piano you might find in a summer beach cottage or something. Maybe that’s the color. We will be painting our duck coop in a color similar to the one you picked out for your piano. It’s a lovely color. We want to refinish our piano some day, but in mahogany stain or maybe something a bit more red than the dark brown stain it is now.

    • We do live near the beach! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Not in a summer cottage, but there are several of those around our neighborhood. Maybe it rubbed off on us. lol. I thought about doing white but our walls are all white (rental house) and thought it would blend in too much.

  2. Beautiful! Baldwin is an excellent brand! I’m a purist unless the piano needs a refinishing. But, this is remarkably colorful & cheerful & you all did a wonderful job! I have a Baldwin upright antique my Mom refinished & played while I was growing up. Her and I sang and harmonized country and gospel music and it’s in my house now. I’ve played it many times thinking of her!

    • Cindy- what wonderful memories!! My parents have a piano that was my great-grandmother’s and I love that we have one now that my kids can grow up playing and enjoying as well. There’s something about music that is just so special to share together with those we love. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Nice! Every family should have a piano (that’s always available for playing) and a dog. At least one of each. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

