Learning To Eat In Season

This spring, we decided to purchase a CSA for our summer/early fall vegetables from a local organic farm school.

I’m so excited! My hubby and I have wanted to do a CSA for a couple years but haven’t been able to financially make it work til this year.  We’ll get to experiment with veggies we’ve never eaten and try new recipes to accommodate them, which will be fun and interesting to see how it works out. I’m going to be planning our weekly dinner menu around the veggies we get instead of making a menu and grocery list and then going and getting the food we’d need to make the recipes. The thought of this kind of makes my head spin- it’s completely opposite of what we’ve been doing.

What is a CSA?  It is community supported agriculture- you pay a local farmer and they give you a variety of fresh veggies every week for a set time- like 20 weeks, from June to September.  You may be able to find farms that offer CSA’s in your area by visiting localharvest.org or by doing a Google search. It’s a good way to support your local farmers and get delicious, pesticide and chemical free produce!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m kinda stuck.

I thought I’d try to get some practice in and start this month, buying veggies and fruits that are on sale at the grocery store and trying not to buy stuff that is out of season. It’s harder than I thought it would be. I normally love making lists and planning what we’ll eat but I’m finding myself somewhat stumped this time around, trying to evaluate if what I’m thinking of making requires ingredients that are out of season or not. Maybe I’m thinking about it too deeply.

Looking at the grocery store sales paper; I had mixed feelings of what was on sale. Some things are great- like the organic oranges and lemons, but they still come from far away places like Mexico and Florida, which isn’t local by any means. Bananas are on sale, and we’ll buy them because they are cheap ($0.49 a lb!) and delicious, even though they are not from anywhere close by. And if we don’t eat them all, I can freeze them or make banana bread. yum!

Other things, like apples; are getting more expensive at the grocery store as the supply is beginning to dwindle. And honestly, apples at this time of year are not always that good- they can be mealy or over ripe and taste weird. But I love my peanut butter and apple slices and am sad that I have to wait until next fall to eat them again. Since I live in Washington, apples are always around…they just shoot WAY up in price, especially for organic ones. And paying $4 a pound is not my favorite thing to do, so we’ll probably cut back on the apples and peanut butter snacks and substitute something that is less expensive.

Broccoli is on sale, and we’ll get some of it for salads and as a side, and I like to have carrots and potatoes on hand for impromptu days of rain, which calls for chicken soup. But other than that, I’m having trouble.

So…could you help me out?

There are tons of greens that are in season right now- kale, spinach, lettuce, chard, Asian greens like bok choy. I’ll have to learn how to cook the chard/bok choy. I have no idea how to prepare them! So….if you know how to eat them and make them delicious, could you help me out and post a link or a recipe ? I’d SUPER appreciate it!

Also, I’d love to know your favorite spring vegetable and how you eat it, to give me some ideas. 🙂 Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Learning To Eat In Season

  1. I love trying to eat in season but there really are some challenges if you are in a cold climate. I’m planning on a whole month of spring veg and herbs for May but right now pickings are a bit slim. I’ve got my windowbox herbs, my fall canned stuff, veg that was frozen last fall and local hydroponics for lettuces.

    • There sure are! Winter time can have some slim pickings. I would love to do what our grandmothers (or great grandmothers) did, canning and putting up a bunch of stuff in the summer so that we can eat well in the winter. We’re trying to move more in that direction, but it takes a whole different mindset. 🙂

  2. Asparagus is also in season from March-May. Our favorite way to eat them is grilled or broiled in the oven with a little oil, salt and pepper. Spinach, kale and chard are high in oxalic acid which can be damaging to your thyroid and cause kidney stones, so I always cook those before eating because that gets rid of the oxalic acid. I like to toss spinach in at the last minute with scrambled eggs, just to lightly wilt it. Kale tastes great in soups or you could make southern style “collard greens” with it. I haven’t really eaten much chard. Now I am hungry though, haha.

    • I love kale in soups, and asparagus- I forgot about it! I love asparagus too, cooked the same way you cook it. I never thought of putting spinach in scrambled eggs- good idea. We have an overabundance of eggs since our chickens are laying like crazy right now, so that would be a good way to use both spinach and use up some eggs!

Leave a Reply

