Gorgeous Fall Colors

Last week the kids and I took a trip across the mountains with my Mom and Dad.

It was totally spur of the moment- one of those, “hey you wanna come with us?”

“um, YES!”

kind of things.
The weather had been foggy for days here, with no end in sight so when we had a chance to escape and cross over from dreariness to sunshine and warmth of course we jumped at it.

We dropped off a couple of deer at Owen’s Meats- the processor my family has used since I was a little kid, then we went around the ridge and over the river out to pretty much my favorite childhood places ever: Teanaway.

I’ve written about Teanaway before, here and here. It’s just one of those places that captures your heart and doesn’t let go, no matter how long it’s been since you were there last.

This time, the light was golden and it was warm out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The river was really low so the kids could walk on the rocks without fear of falling into swirling rapids…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So we did a little exploring and found some cool rocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My sweet Mama helping the kids across the river rocks. They were so cute!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The trees were losing their gorgeous yellow and red leaves and it made for some pretty eye candy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We went nature-watching after we left the river, and drove around for a bit but didn’t see any animals. Then all of a sudden, when we were all looking out the side windows I looked out the front windshield and there was a 5 point bull elk RIGHT in front of us, standing on the side of the road!!

It was so majestic! Of course in the excitement, I forgot that my camera was sitting in my lap. 😦

But seeing him was really cool! He crossed the road in front of us, then faded away into the trees. What a great end to a relaxing day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We drove away as the sun was slowly sinking over the hills, wishing that we could just stay a bit longer.  Don’t you just love places like that, that bring life to your heart and are so beautiful it almost hurts?  I sure do. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Gorgeous Fall Colors

  1. Yes, I totally agree! And thank you so much for sharing your pictures with us, they are so beautiful and clear! I especially like the first one with the tall golden yellow-orange tree—it’s so majestic.:) I felt as if I were there right along with you all.:)

Leave a Reply

