Crock Pot Applesauce- an easy recipe

It’s the beginning of apple season and one of the best ways to use the lesser quality apples (Transparents, Crab apples) is to make them into applesauce.

My great-uncle and aunt have Transparent apple trees and they got a ton of them this year and graciously gave a few boxes away to my mom and I.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Transparent apples tend to be kind of mealy and are not very good to eat just off the tree, so they are the perfect candidate to be made into applesauce.

Since I work most afternoon/evenings, I don’t have time to cook applesauce over the stove and then can it, (although I would LOVE to) so I’ve taken to just making applesauce in the crock pot and then freezing it.

It’s SUPER easy.

Basically, you take your apples, peel, core and slice them.

Throw them in the crockpot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Put on the lid, turn it on high for about 2 hours or on low for 4-ish hours, until your apples are soft and mushy.

I don’t puree it or anything, just let it cook til it’s soft and stir it up really well, and it gets pretty smooth on it’s own.

Then I let it cool, and put it in mason jars (with an inch or two of headroom) or gallon ziploc freezer bags and stick it in the freezer.

And that’s it!

So easy and delicious. You don’t need to add any sugar or anything for Transparent apples, although I might add some kind of sweetener for Crab apples as they tend to be a little more tart. I’m going to use my applesauce for making Mom’s Multi-Grain Bread, or just for a “dessert” in the winter. It almost tastes like apple pie, it is so yummy.

What is your favorite way to make applesauce?

Do you can it or freeze it?? I’d love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “Crock Pot Applesauce- an easy recipe

  1. Wow, that looks really good. I make it almost the same way you do but I usually keep it stored in the fridge. I don’t make large batches as I have yet to learn how to can. By the way, Congratulations on your pregnancy!:) Many blessings to you!

    • Thanks so much!! Yeah I usually make a lot and just freeze it because I have to go over to my mom and dad’s to can- my mom has the canning stuff. One day I’ll get a big canning pot, and all the accessories. I’m keeping my eye out at thrift stores and yard sales!

Leave a Reply

