The One Where I Talk About Food- Part 1

So, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about writing about the food we eat…

but there is just so much to say, I haven’t said really anything in a while.

I am REALLY passionate about food.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mom’s Homemade Bread- I have a recipe for that coming up soon!

I want to talk about  about eating in a way that is healthy for your body, without genetically modified ingredients or refined sugars.

I was going to write about what not to eat…

but really there are too many things to list.

So instead I’m going to talk about what we try to eat on a regular basis. Except I may digress at some point, so be ready. 😉

Of course there are those occasions that we “splurge” and eat things we might not normally indulge in; like on holidays or birthdays or at parties. This weekend is my birthday and my brother’s graduation party, so we’ll be eating some things we don’t usually eat. But next week, it will be back to normal.

My philosophy is if we spend 80-90% of our time eating clean, real, non-processed foods, it’s not horrible to have a treat now and then. And there are plenty of delicious things to eat made with non processed food- we’re not depriving ourselves!

So.

What do we eat?

Organic Steel Cut Oats. A lot of them. We pretty much eat them for breakfast every morning.

Or I make homemade granola and we eat that with (sometimes) raw milk from a local dairy. Usually we just buy the vitamin D milk  from the grocery store.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Homemade granola

Fruit that is in season. Organic or homegrown if it’s apples, cherries or berries.

Veggies. Organic carrots, veggies from our garden (which is radishes and leafy greens so far), regular potatoes, celery, veggies in season. Eating food that is in season will save you a lot of money.

Rice, lentils, black beans, kidney beans, chickpeas. I make lentil soup, curries out of the chickpeas and mexican dishes with the beans. I usually use dried legumes and cook them in batches in the crockpot and freeze them for later use. You can get 4 times as many beans for the same price as a can at the store using this method.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lentil Soup

Free range chicken and grass fed beef, or elk or venison.

My dad hunts and hubby is going to hunt this fall, so that is a great way to get lean healthy meat for the cost of the hunting license/ hunting trip. And elk is delicious! So is venison, if you do it right.

We don’t eat a lot of meat since free range chicken and  grass-fed beef is kind of expensive. We will be butchering two of our roosters this weekend and eventually we’d like to buy half a beef from a local farm. I’m also open to getting half of a hog, as long as it’s pastured and heritage breed. Store bought pork makes me sick.

We usually have one or two meals a week with meat.

As far as oils, I try to use organic extra virgin coconut oil for most things (its’ really good when making stovetop popcorn!) and extra virgin olive oil for everything else.  No canola oil or vegetable oil because safflower oil and canola oil are almost certainly genetically modified. And anything that is corn-related that is not organic is genetially modified- 90% of corn is.  Just what does that mean? Here is a good article on that. 

I believe that most of the health problems that are rampant today (obesity, diabetes, cancer, gluten intolerance, allergies, maybe even autism, definitely adhd) are a result of not eating a proper diet and ingesting chemicals/poisons that our bodies cannot process or handle .

I know for sure that when my kids eat anything with sugar, ESPECIALLY high fructose corn syrup in it, they get way more aggressive and can’t hold still (even more than usual) and don’t concentrate. I think a lot of kids diagnosed with hyperactivity just are eating junk that makes them crazy. When we stay away from refined sugars and only use maple syrup and raw honey as sweeteners, I feel so much better and the kids are less aggressive and able to concentrate better on schoolwork.

We stay away from HFCS at all costs. Read labels at the store- it’s sneaky how many things the food companies put it in. Ketchup, BBQ sauce, graham crackers,  have sugar in it. Monsanto (the evil genetically modifying food company that has WAY too much power) has re-labeled high fructose corn syrup as “corn sugar”, trying to say it isn’t any different than real sugar. But it is.

If you want to read more about Monsanto, just google them- they’ve been named the most evil corporation of 2013. They’ve been in the news a lot lately because of the Monsanto Protection Act that was recently signed and because of the farmer who “mysteriously” found GMO wheat growing in his field. I can’t talk too much about it because I get super upset and start raving. But they are evil, evil evil!

Anyway….Yes. I am passionate about food and keeping it’s integrity and nutrients and eating real, non processed, food that hasn’t been spliced with fish genes to make it resistant to things.

Except the boxed Jello no-bake cheesecake I made for dessert last night. There are occasional exceptions. But we do try to stay away from the processed food (aka almost everything at the grocery store that’s not produce, bulk or dairy ) as much as possible.

This is getting long, so I’ll stop for now. I may do a part 2 at some point. If you want to know some of the things we eat, check out my recipes page. 🙂 I should have a bread-making tutorial coming up soon as well!

Leave a Reply

