Poached Eggs on Toast

When it comes to breakfast; up until recently I’ve been a toast, granola, or steel cut oats with blueberries and maple syrup kinda girl.

Then my sister introduced me to poached eggs on toast and I have to say, I’m in love.

Enjoying delicious homemade bread toasted to perfection with a farm fresh egg poached just the right length of time- it’s great! Yum!

Plus, I kinda feel English when I eat it. Because in my mind, this is what British people eat for breakfast. I have no idea if that’s actually true. (Any English people want to set me straight? ) 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The trick is to drop the egg into boiling water and push down the toast in the toaster immediately afterwards. Then when the toast pops up, your egg is done!  (as long as you like your toast semi- golden/bordering on dark)

I’ve always had a phobia of slimy egg whites. I mean, they’re just…ew. Not appetizing at all.

But when you use this method, the egg gets cooked just enough that it’s not slimy and the yolk is still nice and soft and runny.

Chop the egg up so the yolk runs all over the generously buttered toast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serve with a cup of tea or coffee and you’ve got a fantastic breakfast!

2 thoughts on “Poached Eggs on Toast

Leave a Reply

