Starting Seeds

It’s that time of year- when gardeners pour over the seed catalogs and order their seeds and wait impatiently until they can put those little gems of goodness into the dark, moist soil and wait and watch until little sprouts of promise begin to spring from the ground.

Ironically enough, I didn’t get my seed catalog until after I ordered my seeds…

but that’s just because waiting isn’t one of my strong suits.

Our seeds arrived last week from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds and it was so exciting! I love Baker Creek because all of their seeds are non-GMO and they have  a huge selection of heirloom seeds from all over the world and many of them are rare. And of course, they have gorgeous pictures in their catalog.

We got 36 different veggies/flowers/herbs, plus a few more that I had left over from last year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I ordered all the staples of your basic kitchen garden:

tomatoes (red cherry yellow cherry, paste, black and red)

zucchini(yellow and green)

beans (green and black and soup)

peas (sugar snap and regular)

cabbage, broccoli, lettuce, celery,

parsnips, carrots (red and orange)

turnips, beets, basil, chamomile

borage, horehound, thyme

cilantro,oregano, spinach,

yarrow, chives, zinnias,

nasturtiums, marigolds

and a few other things.

I wanted to order sunflower seeds because I love sunflowers, but I forgot.

But, guess what I received as a free gift for ordering?? Sunflower seeds!!
I cried, I was so happy!

God loves us so much and knows the desires of our hearts. 🙂

It was awesome.

So yesterday the kids and I started a few seeds inside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We saved some toilet paper rolls and cut them in half, and rolled up some newspaper (not the shiny kind) and put organic seed starting mix in there and started the herbs and cabbage, broccoli,  some of the tomatoes and celery.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had so much fun, and I’m so excited to watch for those first little sprouts peeking out.

Have you started seeds yet? I was worried we may have started too late, but then I checked the frost dates for here and we should have just enough time. Whew!  Thank goodness.

I’ll keep you updated on our seeds! Check back tomorrow for a yummy lentil soup recipe.

3 thoughts on “Starting Seeds

  1. Pingback: Transplanting Tomatoes | Live Simple Natural

  2. I still have to wait awhile to plant anything besides asparagus and parsnips and maybe garlic. There’s still a chance we could get some snow, even though we haven’t gotten any yet this winter!

Leave a Reply

