Homemade Flour Tortillas

I wrote a couple days ago on my Facebook page that I’d made tortillas to go with dinner, and promised to share the recipe later, so here I am! 🙂

I’ve been baking all kinds of things for years, even made my own pasta  for a while, but for some reason making my own tortillas didn’t occur to me. Or when it did,  I was kinda scared to think about doing it. What if I burn them? How do you cook them?

Flour tortillas are so easy to make! I wish I’d gotten up the courage to try before now. I don’ t think we’ll ever buy tortillas again- they are so much more flavorful and less gummy than the flour tortillas you get at the store, and don’t have any of the weird preservatives in them. All you need are a few simple ingredients you probably already have in your house.

You also get to get your fingers into the dough and get messy, which is so much fun! If you have little helpers at home, they will love this. I love it too! Flour is so soft, and it just feels nice between my fingers.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Makes 8-10 tortillas per batch

3 cups all purpose flour

1/3 cup Coconut oil or olive oil or lard from pastured pork

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1 cup very warm water

Put the flour in a mixing bowl, add the coconut oil and smash around with your fingers until you have a bunch of tiny lumps throughout the flour.

Add the salt and warm water and mix until it turns into a nice dough.

Form into balls, let sit for at least 30 minutes.  It won’t really rise, but the dough needs to sit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Get out your rolling pin and on a floured surface, roll out your tortillas til they are just thick enough to stay together when you try to peel them off the counter. Supermodel thin. They will rise when you are cooking them, so make them thinner than you want to start with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made them too thick the first time and they kinda turned out like pita bread instead of tortillas. Which wasn’t bad, per say; but they were more bready than we were shooting for. All of my tortillas also end up being  fun cool shapes, more like a rectangle or a stretched animal skin than round.  It gives them character. Makes eating more interesting. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cook your tortillas in a cast iron skillet on medium high heat til bubbles form on the first side, then flip the tortilla and let it go another few seconds. If I roll out one at a time, I can usually get another tortilla rolled while one is cooking. And if you happen to burn it a little- it’s okay. I did the same thing. They still tasted amazing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you have any leftover from your meal or are making them for wraps, etc, then stick the tortillas immediately into a 2 gallon ziplock bag. A one gallon bag will work if your tortillas aren’t too big, but I tend to make larger ones so I need a bigger bag. Remember that these tortillas don’t have any preservatives in them so they won’t keep for a month like store bought tortillas will. Freeze them, or eat them right up. We haven’t had a problem with any sticking around for more than a week so far, since they are so good. I’m not sure beyond that how well they will stay.

This is what I used my tortillas for. Chicken Enchiladas. Delicious. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Have fun making tortillas!

This post is shared at WildCrafting Wednesday.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Flour Tortillas

Leave a Reply

