Food Waste Friday, July 15,2011

Good Morning!
Today is Food Waste Friday, where I take a picture of the food that has gone to waste over the week and write about it. I started this a couple of weeks ago, after being inspired by Kristen of The Frugal Girl chronicling her food waste and watching it dissipate week by week.

Last night I was digging around in my fridge and realized that I had a few things that were about to go bad that I should cook up right away! There was some yellow squash that had been in there for a week and a half that was starting to get a little mushy on the ends…
I cut it up (minus the mushy ends- those went in the compost) and put it in to sautee with the peppers, shallots and onions and chicken I was making for dinner. We had mashed sweet potatoes too. If you’ve never had them before, you should try them. They are really good!

I also had a tomato and some spinach that we’d used up part of in making Greek Club Pita Sandwiches the night before; so I made them into a salad with some almonds and celery and a few more sweet peppers.
(I didn’t think about taking pictures of these, sorry!)

I thought that I did really well this week- other than one dinner of Moroccan Carrot Soup that the kids didn’t eat, we had no waste at all! Or so I thought until I went to do dishes this morning and found…

Steel cut oats.

Dang those oats!!

Usually we finish them off every morning, except on the mornings when I am not as hungry, then we have a little left over. Like yesterday.
Would you like to know the reason I wasn’t as hungry??
We bought some Kashi soft and chewy trail mix cookies the other day at Target to fend off the 4-o’clock hunger that was overtaking me and the kids. They were delicious. Just the right amount of chewiness, with some really good whole-grain healthiness in there. And instead of high fructose corn syrup, they had honey, brown rice syrup and cane sugar in them. Yummy.

We had a few left over yesterday morning and hubby found them and we all enjoyed one before breakfast, but since I’d had a cookie, I wasn’t as hungry…
Hence why we teach our kids to eat their meals before they have treats!! 😀
It’s funny (and sad) that I am the culprit of this food waste- I learned the lesson once again- no treats before we eat!
Maybe next week I’ll remember to eat all of the oats and we’ll have a food waste-free week! (Or I’ll just wait til after we eat breakfast to have any treats..)
How did you do?

Linking to The Frugal Girl

One thought on “Food Waste Friday, July 15,2011

Leave a Reply

